I took a look at my 2010 financial planning, things does not look good, I was spending way more than I earned and now committed to more things that I could pay for.
So I forecasted my monthly spending up to Dec 2010, by June I'll be deprived of relocation allowance that is total of RM2700. So my June paycheck would be 2000 short whereas I could only cut down the expense of RM1000.
Plus I still have mountains of CC debt to be paid off. I also still have PTPTN debt, not to mentioned my house renovation work have to put on hold. This is all after accounting that I have no savings at all!!
The only one that I have is the Unit Trust money with CIMB, which is good as I don't see it anywhere. Am glad that I made the decision much earlier.. ..
All in all, I am badly screwed. I make it a point to pay off as much debt as I can for this year. My cash flow is below the poverty line. I have to make this works!!!
I have set up KPI's for this year, more focus in order for me to do better at work. Let see how I did in the first 2 weeks of this year...
KPI 1 : To attend operation morning meeting at least more than 2 times a week
Week 1 : 3 oo 5 - good
Week 2 : 2 oo 4 - so-so (blame the 4 working days)
KPI 2: Talk in the meeting when they go round table (at least once a week)
Week 1 : Once
Week 2 : Once
(This one am not planning to increase, just keep it up-> purely for visibility purposes
KPI 3: Contribute valueable learning in monthly report (at least once every month)
Month 1 : Apart from PSA update, am still scratching my head for this months topic)
KPI 4: Respond to email on the same day
Currently working on this, some still got delayed but not as bad as last year..
I think I deserve a pat on the back for the past 2 weeks performance. Let's hope I can at least mantain it throughout the year, InsyaAllah ;)
Before I logged in, many things were flying in my mind, now that the window is opened, my mind is blank.......
I know, lets talk about work, I received a bad feedback. Basically I have not been doing very well. Indeed I knew it, and I felt it as well, I know that one thing for sure that I has been bogged down by countless family issues. Those type of problem that won't just go away. I need to shift my focus, learn to isolate personal and work. I used to be good at that. Anything happen at home, I can still deliver during study time.
I guess its much different environment now. When I was studying, it all hangs in the final exam, I can always relax, take it easy and only work my butt off till the very last minute, and I can still score. But working requires daily stamina, daily renewed motivation. You are not allowed to make mistakes. Today I was talking to a colleague, I realize that the appraisal is actually a fault finding process, a way to slash someone down so that the company won't have to pay you big bonus, that must be it. This guy that I talk to is to me very good, but still his boss is not putting good words for him.
I have promised myself to do better, how? Here are few things that I plan to do:
- Attend the morning meeting at least 3 times a week, the more the better (I did this when I first came in 3 years ago,it works..people 'see' you everyday, so they 'assume' you are doing your work....
- Produce good piece of work at least once a month
- Respond/reply incoming mail on the same day - Boon Yaw did this, and look where he is now..
- Copy everybody in the world for work that I do?? - not my style, only when necessary
- Set up KPI for myself (done as above), few items to add. Since I am not vocal and not seen as engaging others, I have to ensure that I spend at least 2 minutes updating these managers (once a week) . I just hate updating my big boss, always that I'll end up having more things to do...
- Anything else will be updated later....
I guess that's it, will try my best, I will be losing my relocation allowance starting June, so I must exercise some self discipline in terms of budget.. wish me luck :)
