Before I logged in, many things were flying in my mind, now that the window is opened, my mind is blank.......
I know, lets talk about work, I received a bad feedback. Basically I have not been doing very well. Indeed I knew it, and I felt it as well, I know that one thing for sure that I has been bogged down by countless family issues. Those type of problem that won't just go away. I need to shift my focus, learn to isolate personal and work. I used to be good at that. Anything happen at home, I can still deliver during study time.
I guess its much different environment now. When I was studying, it all hangs in the final exam, I can always relax, take it easy and only work my butt off till the very last minute, and I can still score. But working requires daily stamina, daily renewed motivation. You are not allowed to make mistakes. Today I was talking to a colleague, I realize that the appraisal is actually a fault finding process, a way to slash someone down so that the company won't have to pay you big bonus, that must be it. This guy that I talk to is to me very good, but still his boss is not putting good words for him.
I have promised myself to do better, how? Here are few things that I plan to do:
- Attend the morning meeting at least 3 times a week, the more the better (I did this when I first came in 3 years ago,it works..people 'see' you everyday, so they 'assume' you are doing your work....
- Produce good piece of work at least once a month
- Respond/reply incoming mail on the same day - Boon Yaw did this, and look where he is now..
- Copy everybody in the world for work that I do?? - not my style, only when necessary
- Set up KPI for myself (done as above), few items to add. Since I am not vocal and not seen as engaging others, I have to ensure that I spend at least 2 minutes updating these managers (once a week) . I just hate updating my big boss, always that I'll end up having more things to do...
- Anything else will be updated later....
I guess that's it, will try my best, I will be losing my relocation allowance starting June, so I must exercise some self discipline in terms of budget.. wish me luck :)
